Waterbury Symphony Orchestra

2017 - 2018: Sonic Structures

Classical IV

Force of Nature

Leif Bjaland, Conductor


April 22, 2018 - 3 pm
NVCC Fine Arts Center

Pre-concert discussion: 2:00-2:30PM Vincent de Luise


Show 1


Beethoven — Symphony No. 6, F major, Op. 68 "Pastoral"
Stravinsky — The Rite of Spring

The WSO concludes its 80th season with a celebration of nature, courtesy of two of the greatest composers the world has ever known. Beethoven saw nature as a refuge, a place to escape the agonies of the world. His Pastoral Symphony is an expansive, lyric respite for this angry revolutionary of 19th century music. Stravinsky saw nature in all its wildness and spring as a rebirth of life from roots as ancient as the earth itself. His music for the ballet The Rite of Spring stirred sensation when it was premiered in 1913, changing the course of musical history forever.



Show 1


“Never shall I forget the time I spent with you. Please continue to be my friend, as you will always find me yours.”—Ludwig van Beethoven

Ludwig van Beethoven

Pianist, Composer(c. 1770–1827)
Ludwig van Beethoven was a German composer and the predominant musical figure in the transitional period between the Classical and Romantic eras.


Composer Ludwig van Beethoven was baptized on December 17, 1770, in Bonn, Germany. He was an innovator, widening the scope of sonata, symphony, concerto and quartet, and combining vocals and instruments in a new way. His personal life was marked by a struggle against deafness, and some of his most important works were composed during the last 10 years of his life, when he was quite unable to hear. He died in 1827 at the age of 56.


Show 1

 “The more constraints one imposes, the more one frees one's self. And the arbitrariness of the constraint serves only to obtain precision of execution.”—Igor Fyodorovich Stravinsky

Igor Fyodorovich Stravinsky

Pianist, Conductor, Songwriter(1882–1971)

Influential Russian composer Igor Stravinsky created such famed works as 'The Rite of Spring,' 'Symphony in C' and 'The Rake's Progress.'


Igor Stravinsky was born on June 17, 1882, in Oranienbaum, Russia. He rose to fame in the early 1900s for his compositions for the Ballets Russes, including the controversial The Rite of Spring. Stravinsky brought his family to Switzerland and then France, continuing his output with such works as Renard and Persephone. After moving to the United States in 1939, he completed his famed Symphony in C and became an American citizen. Stravinsky died in New York City on April 6, 1971, with more than 100 works to his name. (www.biography.com)

Sonic Structure Season Sponsor:

Show 1

Presenting sponsor:

Show 1Show 1